Stephanie Kubo

2 Op Collective has their eyes on STEPHANIE KUBO! Here are some examples of her work:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Q. Tell us about your work?

A. My work focuses on linework and patterns. I have a strong interest in the use of negative space and the effect the use of density and/or space has in a composition. The pattern based work (the ‘obsessive’ ones) are based on intuition. It is a sort of stream of consciousness-type of study that I don’t plan out or sketch much, if at all, beforehand. It began as an interest in what kind of effects could be created using only lines and pattern, especially with overlapping and perceived depth. It isn’t there, since it is a flat line on flat paper, but I want to create that space for the viewer to get lost in.

My most recent work has been done in linocut, which I think is an extension of my interest in negative space since it must be considered while carving. It allows me to explore more with textures and I find that these pieces are much more illustrative and are usually inspired by written works.

 

Q. What advice do you have for your peers?

A. Be true to yourself and make work that you enjoy.

 

Q. Where can we learn more about you and your work?

A. www.stephaniekubo.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

